- we hunt the dead

Nathaniel Hawthorne
July 4, 1804 – May 19, 1864
Sleepy Hollow Cemetery - Concord, MA



Nathaniel Hawthorne was a 19th Century author and is considered one of the key figures in establishing American literature.  He is best known for his many short stories or "tales", as well and his 4 major Romances - The Scarlet Letter, The House of the Seven Gables, The Blithedale Romance, and The Marble Faun.



Mr. Hawthorne's grave is easily found if you follow the signs to "Author's Ridge".  His plot has 2 matching markers, one approximately 6 feet behind the other.



Factoid:  Mr. Hawthorne's surname was originally "Hathorne".  He added the "w" when he was in his 20s.


Learn more about Nathaniel Hawthorne


©, 2004-2007.  All Rights Reserved.
Use of this website constitutes your understanding and acceptance of the legal stuff.